There is hope!

My appointment with the oncologist went well . I do not have any mutated genes so the percentage of recurrence is markedly down as an option with that news..
I gave in after the discussion with the Doctor and decided my fears about taking antidepressants were going to have to go to the back burner  while I try his therapy and see if it helps….
I was also told my body WOULD NOT adjust and the symptoms would NOT diminish until I no longer take the drug…. so I wasn’t left with any other solution.
 So I went immediately to the drugstore to fill the prescription then home to try it out!
 After less than hour I could tell that it had helped ( placebo???) even though the Doctor suggested it might take as long as 3 weeks for me to see any benefit.
 It is Thursday one week later and I still feel like it has diminished some of the intensity and amount of the hot flashes.. But It wears off toward the evening
He gave me a small does to start with and it seems to last about 8 hours then gradually wears off .. So I am in hope he can increase the does and it Will last longer?
 And then My life will be more bearable…But I have to say it is a bit better now.
I am waiting to see if the effect wears off or if it will be a permanent fix and I will unable to become depressed for 5 years :-)!
Yesterday I had an outpatient procedure to replace the battery in the neurotransmitter that I have in bedded in my hip that stimulates the nerve at the end of my spine .It is a treatment from Medtronics called Interstim Therapy for Overactive Bladder ( one of my OTHER issues ). The downside being even though it works really well the battery has to be replaced in 5 years and this was 5 years for mine. It went well and I was up ans out of there in a couple of hours… And Home back to working and nursing my new incision….. Pain pills keep it from being too uncomfortable. Besides it is a mild pain to some I have had recently.
The technology for these kinds of devices is changing everyday And the Dr told me that in about a year they will have the newly developed version approved that does not have to be removed to recharge. ( I assume this is for heart pacemakers too they are the same kind of device) They will be able to be charged by laying on a charging pad like you can do to some Ipods and cell phones now  so no surgery will be necessary after they have been implanted.  Medical technology is a marvel.. just wish it could have been available yesterday so I  didn’t have to have the next surgery in 5 years from now.
I have two more small procedures to go…. to complete the reconstruction and then it is on to the heart Doctor again to see if my heart has gotten any worse since the last stress test.
I have been perusing my medical history files online at the Cigna site and was surprised to see a file of all the diagnosis my doctors have given for each visit/procedure that has made a claim to cigna. I was looking through it and found that in March 2011 the cardiologist claimed a diagnosis of Morbid Obesity for me… Believe me, I feel fat some days but I am 5’6″ and 145 lbs,  Far from morbidly obese… So I assume it is a miscoded thingy either messed up by the doctor’s office or the insurance data entry person, But either way it answers the question why Cigna /WebMD keeps sending my diet tips and general information about how not to be overweight. I have received information about most of the things the Doctors have diagnosed from cigna as a Well/health thing they do to make their clients aware of how to care for  their medical issues.
 But I have to admit I have been really puzzled why they kept sending me diet info…..Did they know something I don’t ??? LOL
Now I need to get that code off of my record in case something comes up in the future which would change my claims, because of being overweight? Or some other scenario ,, Plus the fact that it is just plain wrong info… I don’t think I have ever been able to “see ” what a Doctor has claimed as a diagnosis on an insurance claim before with any other provider I have had or at least I wasn’t aware I could see that info.
 Just goes to show how ignorant we can be about our own information  and why we cannot always understand denials or other such determinations with insurance companies.
 So I will be allot more vigilant in the future about knowing what is in my records.
And you should be too!
 Anyway Overall My attitude today is so much better….. I feel like I have Hope that things will again get back to a manageable state with a little more time.! 🙂

Print Page

Leave a comment